
REP27 · Article 27 · Best GDPR representative
Article 27 GDPR · UK GDPR · buyer's guide · prices checked 1 October 2026
Short answer: the best GDPR representative is the one that is legally established in the Union (and in the UK if you need both), signs your designation quickly, does not charge you every time an authority or a data subject writes, publishes its price, and gives you a certificate anyone can verify. Measured on those criteria, REP27 starts at €290 a year for the EU and €390 for the EU and the UK together, signs within 24 hours, prices per company rather than per employee or per euro of revenue, and lets you try it for seven days without a card. Below is the full comparison, with the published prices of the main providers so you can check the arithmetic yourself.
From €290/year EU€390 EU + UKSigned in 24 hoursPrice per company7-day free trial
Article 27 of the General Data Protection Regulation applies to companies that have no establishment in the European Union but offer goods or services to people in the Union, or monitor their behaviour, for example through analytics, tracking or profiling. Those companies must designate in writing a representative established in one of the Member States where the people concerned are. Since Brexit the United Kingdom has its own copy of the rule in the UK GDPR, so a company selling to both markets usually needs two representatives: one in the Union and one in the UK. The representative is the contact point for supervisory authorities and for data subjects, it must be named in your privacy notice, and under Article 30 it keeps or can produce the record of processing activities. It does not take over your liability, and no honest provider will tell you otherwise.
Every provider says it is the best. These are the points that separate a representative that protects you from one that simply invoices you.
The law requires the representative to be established in a Member State. Ask for the company name, registration number and registered address, and check them in the public register. REP27's EU designation is signed by Europe Services, SE, Prague, IČO 03571785, active since 2014.
The UK GDPR needs a representative established in the UK. A provider that covers both should name two entities. REP27's UK designation is signed by REP27 LTD, company number 17385889, and the two are issued together with one renewal date.
Requests from data subjects and letters from authorities are the reason the role exists. A plan that charges per request makes the representative cheaper on paper and more expensive the moment it is used. Check this line first.
Many providers price by employees, by revenue or by number of data subjects. That is legitimate, but it means the price you see is rarely the price you pay. REP27 prices per company, with the same price for a two-person start-up and a larger group.
If a marketplace, a client's procurement team or an authority is asking for your representative this week, a provider that takes ten working days is the wrong provider. REP27 countersigns within 24 hours of a completed form.
A PDF can be edited. A certificate with a public verification code lets your clients, platforms and authorities confirm the designation without calling you. Every REP27 certificate carries one.
Companies that need an Article 27 representative often need more: the GPSR responsible person for consumer products, the cosmetics responsible person, the AI Act authorised representative, the Cyber Resilience Act contact. One provider, one onboarding, one renewal date.

These are the prices each provider publishes on its own website, as checked on 1 October 2026. Where a provider does not publish a price, we say so instead of guessing. Prices change; follow the links and check before you decide.
| Provider | Published price | What the price depends on | Fee per request |
|---|---|---|---|
| REP27 | €290/year EU · €390 EU + UK · Standard €490 / €590 | Per company, not per employee or revenue | None from Standard; Base covers 10 requests a year |
| Prighter | From €420/year (under 10 employees, yearly) to €4,752 (250–749) | Number of employees | None, according to Prighter |
| GDPR Local | £99 a month for the EU representative | Monthly subscription | Not stated on the pricing page |
| VeraSafe | $2,700/year (revenue up to $25m) to $12,000 | Global revenue | Not stated |
| EDPO | Not published, quote on request | Employees and type and volume of data | "No added fees", according to EDPO |
| DataRep | Shown in its shop | Number of data subjects, special-category data | Unlimited communications, reasonable use |
The written designation, the certificate with its public verification code, the paragraph for your privacy notice, a request desk that receives and forwards everything addressed to the representative, and from the Standard plan the record of processing activities kept and produced to the authority on request.
Writing your privacy policy, running impact assessments or acting as your DPO. Those are advisory roles. A representative is a contact point, and we would rather say so before you pay.
Renewal is cheaper than the first year (Base €240 for the EU, €320 for EU + UK), and coming from another provider is priced as a renewal, not a new appointment.
Seven days free, no card. The designation is valid and verifiable from the first day, so you can show it to a platform or a client before you pay.

The first invoice is the smallest part of the decision. Over three years the renewal price and the cost of requests matter more.
Look for a flat price and no per-request fees. REP27 Base at €290, or Standard at €490 if you expect requests. Prighter's smallest plan is also a reasonable option for very small teams.
You need two entities. REP27 issues both together for €390 (Base) or €590 (Standard), with one renewal date.
If you also want a DPO, audits or legal opinions, a firm such as EDPO or VeraSafe that sells those services may suit you better, at a higher price.
Check that the same provider can be your GPSR responsible person, cosmetics responsible person or AI Act representative, so the obligations do not live with three suppliers.

There is no official ranking. The best one for you is established in the EU (and in the UK if you need it), signs quickly, publishes its price, does not charge per request and gives a verifiable certificate. REP27 meets all five from €290 a year for the EU and €390 for the EU and the UK.
Among the providers that publish prices and that we checked on 1 October 2026, REP27 Base at €290 a year for the EU is the lowest entry price, followed by Prighter at €420 a year for companies under 10 employees.
Published prices range from about €290 to several thousand euros a year, depending on whether the provider charges by employees, revenue or number of data subjects. REP27 charges a flat price per company: €290, €490 or €890 for the EU.
The representative must be established in one of the Member States where the people whose data you process are. Any Member State works for a company targeting the whole Union. REP27's EU entity is in the Czech Republic.
No. The representative must be a person or entity established in the Union, separate from the company outside the Union that designates it.
With REP27, within 24 hours of a completed form. The certificate is verifiable from the first day.
Yes. REP27 offers seven days free without a card, with a designation that is valid during the trial.
If you are outside the UK and offer goods or services to people in the UK or monitor them, yes: the UK GDPR has its own Article 27. REP27 adds the UK for €100 more than the EU alone.
Yes. The new designation is signed, your privacy notice is updated the same day and the old one is ended afterwards, so there is no gap. Coming from another provider is priced as a renewal.
EU designation from €290 a year, EU and UK together from €390, signed within 24 hours, verifiable certificate, seven days free without a card.
See the plansCompetitor prices taken from each provider's public pricing page on 1 October 2026: Prighter (prighter.com), GDPR Local (gdprlocal.com/pricing), VeraSafe (verasafe.com), EDPO (edpo.com/pricing), DataRep (datarep.com). Prices may have changed since; check the provider's site before deciding.